Happy Holidays!

Things have been busy here at Terrapin Studios lately and I can’t believe it’s been so long since I posted. Don’t worry – the ECO Art + Science Series will be back in the New Year – all the upcoming featurees have been so busy with holiday wassailing that we decided to take a break to enjoy our breaks. Until then, I’d love to share some of the work that’s come out of my studio recently, starting with my very first attempt at serigraphy! I’ve always had a thing for grackles – something about how they’re able to give us humans a taste of our own medicine when it comes to environmental domination kind of endears them to me. But also, they’re just really beautiful birds, vocally and plumistically. So…my husband and I thought it would be fun to let the grackles have a little holiday fun on our Christmas card this year:

Sweetbeak. 2011. Serigraph on recycled paper, series of 50 by H. Gillespie + C. Weatherby.

I’m not sure how he’ll get that down….it’s no french fry, but it’s a dilemma that I’m sure this little Quiscalus can solve.

I was also happy this December to get my first commission of monotype prints at Terrapin Studios. I chose the quintessential little chickadee as the subject for this winter-themed request on a colorful set of recycled papers:

Finally, I’m thrilled that these little monoprints of the endangered Barton Springs Salamander (also the focus of my dissertation research) were able to fetch some holiday donations for the Save Our Springs Alliance at their 2011 holiday party silent auction. Not the best photo, but….oh well:

Eurycea sosorum (The Barton Springs Salamander). 2011. Monotype print by H. Gillespie.

Here’s wishing you and yours a very happy holiday season, no matter what your traditions happen to be, and thanks so much for your readership and support of the biocreativity blog!

One thought on “Happy Holidays!

Leave a Reply

